Angela and Alan – Strathaven Hotel

I love photographing weddings at the Strathaven Hotel. It’s such a warm and welcoming place and has the added benefit of only being two minutes from my house. I love it even more when the sun shines and I get the chance to show off my happy couple against the backdrop of this Robert Adam Jnr architectural gem. But it just can’t get any better when the focus of my attention are people who are as nice as Angela and Alan. They were married on a beautiful day, watched by family and friends at the Strathaven Hotel. The weather was perfect – for regular readers I’ll say it again – yes the weather was perfect! Not too hot and not at all cold, just perfect and so was the wedding – what delay eh Angela? 😉

Angela and Alan engaged the services of Humanist Celebrant, Catherine Owen, to conduct a very special and personal ceremony. I sometimes think of myself as an old traditionalist but the more I see and hear of the Humanist Society the more I like their style. The ceremony was held in the West Lounge which was beautifully decked in full blown regalia for the occasion and the warmth of the ceremony was a real highlight of the day for me. That and Brian’s speech! “They call us Grant and Phil but I like to think I’m more like Grant to Alan’s Phil” he said to great laughter. After the ceremony it was out on the lawn for some bubbly and a few photos before the guests sat down to a right royal banquet in the main hall and the speeches from Anne, Alan and Brian before the music and dancing took everyone towards the wee small hours.

With Katie off sunning herself in Malia I had a new glamorous assistant for the day, my wife Mari, and what a grand job she did reminding me of the wee things I’d missed,  or what I’d promised to do next, and making sure my timing was right. She was brilliant and it was almost as if she’d been practicing for years!

Angela and Alan are a perfect match. It was obvious to everyone present how much they mean to each other and I wish them all the very best for the future. I had a great laugh with their friends and family and my thanks go out to each and every one of them for their patience and co-operation. Special thanks go to Anne, Ken, Brian and Kerri, Catherine, Alana, and Megan for all your hard work and to the three boys, Daniel, John, and Jason, for keeping everyone smiling. Her are a few reminders of a truly perfect day……

 

AAGroup1

AAGroup2
AAGroup3
AAGroup4
AAGroup6
AAGroup5

 

Leave a Reply

